Friday, February 1, 2013

British Fantasy Awards

Good evening constant reader.

I call your attention to the British Fantasy Awards.

The British Fantasy Awards were first presented in 1972 by the British Fantasy Society.
In 1971 author Ramsey Campbell  made the suggestion that the Society present an award in honor of the recently deceased August Derleth.
That following year at the BSFA’s Chessmancon (the annual Easter convention), Michael Moorcock received the August Derleth Fantasy Award for his novel The Knight of Swords.

For several years after this the awards presented by the British Fantasy Society were collectively known as The August Derleth Fantasy Awards – including the addition of several other categories. 
The BFS decided it should promote itself to a larger audience, and in 1976 the August Derleth Fantasy Award became the British Fantasy Awards, with the rule that the original category of Best Novel retain the August Derleth title.

I give you the British Fantasy Awards, best novel beginning with 2000:

2000 - Indigo - Graham Joyce

2001 - Perdido Street Station - China Mieville

2002 -  The Night of the Triffids - Simon Clark

2003 - The Scar - China Mieville

2004 - Full Dark House - Christopher Fowler

2005 - The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower - Stephen King

2006 - Anansi Boys - Neil Gaiman

2007 - Dusk - Tim  Lebbon

2008 - The Grin of the Dark -  Ramsey Campbell

2009 - Memoirs of a Master Forger - William Heaney aka Graham Joyce

2010 - One - Conrad Williams

2011 - No award

2012 - Among Others - Jo Walton

No comments:

Post a Comment