Thursday, January 17, 2013

The Hugo Awards

Good evening constant reader.

You may have heard the name Hugo Awards mentioned in conjunction with science fiction and fantasy writing.

The Hugo Awards are a group of awards given each year for the best achievement in science fiction and fantasy for the preceding year.
The awards are named after Hugo Gernsback, founder of the science fiction magazine Amazing Stories.
They are organized and overseen by the World Science Fiction Society, and are presented to the recipients each year at the annual World Science Fiction Convention.The first set of presentations was in 1953.
At present, Hugo Awards are given in more than a dozen areas, including both written and dramatic works.
The Hugo is considered the highest honor in science fiction and fantasy writing.

For your consideration, here are the winners of the Hugo for best science fiction novel since 2000.

2000 - A Deepness in the Sky - Vernor Vinge

2001 - Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire - J.K. Rowling

2002 - American Gods - Neil Gaiman

2003 - Hominids - Robert J. Sawyer

2004 - Paladin of Souls - Lois McMaster Bujold

2005 - Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell - Susanna Clarke

2006 - Spin - Robert Charles Wilson

2007 - Rainbows End - Vernor Vinge

2008 - The Yiddish Policeman's Union - Michael Chabon

2009 - The Graveyard Book - Neil Gaiman

2010 - The Windup Girl - Paolo Bacigalupi (tie)
            The City & the City - China Mieville (tie)

2011 - Blackout/All Clear - Connie Willis

2012 - Among Others - Jo Walton

No comments:

Post a Comment